Welcome to my book blog, dear potential readers

My first book blog post. Well, this is exciting! Allow me to introduce myself. I am Layla, a Scottish reading enthusiast living in Washington DC with my wife and bookshelves. I have read vigorously since I learned how. A qualification for writing a book blog? Well, it’s as good as any, I suppose. I hope…

I’m starting this blog because over the years I’ve written blogs about health (I’m a doctor by trade), about turning a London area gay, about my intrepid travels around the world, about Rocky Horror… but for some reason while my other interests change, and my book habit remains constant, I never write about what I read. But I’m getting jealous of my lovely friend Thomas and the fun he has writing his MyPorch book blog so I just decided to start one and see what happens.

Why ‘Reading Shoes’? Well, because I was a huge fan of Noel Streatfeild as a child (indeed, also as an adult). Ballet Shoes and White Boots were my favourites. But I was always disappointed that amidst all the Noel Streatfeild characters with all their book-worthy talents, nobody’s talent was ever (like mine) for reading lots of books. I felt there was a gap in the market! There should have been a Streatfeild book called Reading Shoes. I’d have liked that. So I am naming my blog in its honour.

Image

What will be in this blog? Well, I will start off with reviews of some of the books I’ve been reading, and we’ll see what happens! I hope you’ll find it interesting, and maybe even useful. Do let me know.

Leave a Reply

