What I read in 2013: a list and some graphs

In 2013 I challenged myself to read 50 books. And I am very satisfied to have read 52 – that’s one a week. So before I progress to my intimidating 3-point uber-challenge for 2014, I shall keep you in suspense, and first pause to glory in the full list of what has been a delightful year of reading. I didn’t have my blog at the start of the year so after each book I will retrospectively rate them all on a star scale of 1 – 5, 1 being rubbish and 5 being brilliant, listed in the order in which I read them. And then a little graph interlude afterwards, where we shall lament my poor taste in choosing books… All comments and particularly recommendations based on these tastes will be most welcome!

1. Heft by Liz Moore *****
2. Tunneling to the center of the earth by Kevin Wilson ***
3. Sweet Tooth by Ian McEwan *****
4. Pyongyang by Guy Delisle ***
5. Calling Dr Laura by Nicole Georges **
6. The Young Pretenders by Edith Henrietta Fowler ****
7. I am Charlotte Simmons by Tom Wolfe ****
8. Shenzhen by Guy Delislei ****
9. Tom’s Midnight Garden by Philippa Pearce ****
10. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky ****
11. The Patron Saint of Liars by Ann Patchett ****
12.  Brooklyn Follies by Paul Auster *****
13. This Much I Know Is True by Wally Lamb *****
14. A Perfectly Good Man by Patrick Gale ****
15. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card *****
16. How it all began by Penelope Lively ****
17. The Universe versus Alex Woods by Gavin Extence ****
18. The first book of Calamity Leek by Paula Lichtarowicz *
19. Web by John Wyndham ***
20. A Lady Cyclist’s Guide to Kashgar by Suzanne Joinson ***
21. The 10 o’clock Question by Kate de Goldi ****
22. Cassandra at the Wedding by Dorothy Baker ****
23. Where’d you go Bernadette by Maria Semple *****
24. Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford *****
25. I’m a Stranger Here Myself by Bill Bryson *****
26. The 100 year old Man who Climbed out the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson *****
27. When you are engulfed in flames by David Sedaris *****
28. Me talk pretty one day by David Sedaris ****
29. The Right Stuff by Tom Wolfe *****
30. Maggie and Me by Damian Barr *****
31. Reality, Reality by Jackie Kay ****
32. Almost English by Charlotte Mendelson ****
33. The Last Runaway by Tracy Chevalier *****
34. The marrying of Chani Kaufman by Eve Harris ****
35. A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki **
36. Instructions for a heatwave by Maggie O’Farrell ***
37. Glasshopper by Isabel Ashdown ***
38. Life after Life by Kate Atkinson *****
39. May We Be Forgiven by AM Homes *****
40. The Twelve Tribes of Hattie by Ayana Mathis ***
41. Bridget Jones Mad about the boy by Helen Fielding **
42. Salvage the Bones by Jesmyn Ward **
43. Pigs in Heaven by Barbara Kingsolver ***
44. Exerpts from a Hot Pink Notebook by Todd Brown ****
45. A Cure for Dreams by Kaye Gibbons ***
46. Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood *****
47. The year of the flood by Margaret Atwood *****
48. Maddaddam by Margaret Atwood *****
49. Dissident Gardens by Jonathan Lethem *
50. How the Garcia girls lost their accents by Julia Alvarez ***
51. The Seeds of Time by John Wyndham ****
52. The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt *****

bookgraphs

I am choosing not to be concerned that I cannot be fully trusted to find enjoyable books when left entirely to my own devices… I shall just assume that I would have come to many of the wife recommendations if wife had not got in there first (as she was smugly and alarmingly reading at double my speed this year). Onwards and forwards to the books of 2014!

One thought on “What I read in 2013: a list and some graphs

Leave a Reply

